Accessibility policy

About us

A School Service Center Non Like the Others

On April 14, 1967, the National Assembly of the Province of Québec sanctioned Bill 41, instituting the “Commission scolaire de la Côte-Nord du Golfe St-Laurent”. This school board, directed by an administrator, would become responsible for education in fifteen communities. These communities spread out from Kegaska to Blanc Sablon, a territory of 460 kilometres (285 miles) that is not connected to the Québec Provincial road network. Bill 41, created the first “unified” school board in the Province of Québec, serving a French, English, and Native population of Catholic and Protestant religion and giving courses from Kindergarten to Secondary inclusively.

On June 18, 1975, the name of the Commission scolaire de la Côte-Nord du Golfe St-Laurent was changed by order in council for the Commission scolaire du Littoral. Prior to the creation of the district, multiple school districts from various religious orders controlled the area, and none of them offered senior high school education.

The territory of Anticosti Island was added to the Commission scolaire du Littoral with Bill 48 which was passed on June 18, 1976.

Following inter-governmental agreements, the Natives acquired their school autonomy on the St. Augustine River Reservation on July 1, 1990, and on the La Romaine Reserve on July 1, 1991. However, the school board maintained services in these two communities so as to serve the non-Indian population.

The School Board holds a special status considering it is managed by an administrator (who is named by the Lieutenant Governor in Council) who replaces the school commissioners and the director-general. He exercises his powers by means of ordinances, of which a copy is automatically transmitted to the Minister who decides to accept it or to reject it in whole or in part.

Moreover, the Commission scolaire du Littoral is characterized by the fact that it is not classified as a linguistic school board.

Finally, the name Littoral School Board was changed on June 15, 2020 to Centre services scolaire du Littoral.

Our mission

At the Centre de services scolaire du Littoral, we take charge of the organization of the territory’s educational services and ensure their excellence. We partner with the schools on the Lower North Shore and Anticosti Island in their efforts to promote academic success for all students in our communities.

We work to enhance the value of public schooling and contribute, to the extent provided for in the Education Act, to the social, cultural and economic development of our communities.

Our vision

To offer high quality services in order to contribute to the development of informed, responsible and autonomous citizens who will participate in the evolution and sustainability of our territory.

Our values

  • Respect
  • Equity
  • Transparency

Our services

Firmly anchored from Kegaska to Blanc-Sablon, including Port-Menier (Anticosti Island), our activities take place in 9 English-speaking communities and 4 French-speaking communities. These municipalities, with populations ranging from 100 to 1,000 inhabitants, cover an area of 460 kilometers.

At the Centre de services scolaire du Littoral, we offer educational services in general education at preschool, primary and secondary levels, in addition to literacy and general adult education services. We also offer vocational training programs through agreements with other Centre de services scolaire. Our school clientele includes approximately 450 students and our team is made up of 190 employees.

Consult the list of schools